Centers and Institutes: Climate Change and Energy

Colorado State University is a leader in Climate Change and Energy research.

Adapting Livestock Systems to Climate Change Collaborative Research Support Program

The Colorado State University Livestock-Climate Change CRSP aims to reduce vulnerability, increase adaptive capacity, and augment the income of livestock producers in regions where agricultural systems are changing, available resources are shrinking, and climate is having an impact.


Co-Manager: Richard A. Bowen, Department of Biomedical Sciences
Co-Manager: Katie Steneroden,  Department of Clinical Sciences

Center for Multiscale Modeling of Atmospheric Processes

CMMAP, a National Science Foundation Science & Technology Center headquartered at Colorado State University, is developing a revolutionary new approach to climate modeling that will help us to better understand the roles clouds play today and in the future as our climate changes. CMMAP also has a strong science education & diversity component that educates and trains people with diverse backgrounds in Climate and Earth System Science by enhancing teaching and learning and disseminating science results through multiple media. CMMAP has over 140 members spanning organizations from national center for atmospheric research to NASA.


Director: David Randall

Center for the New Energy Economy

The Center for the New Energy Economy, established in 2011, is a national policy center focused on building the new energy economy. Former Colorado Gov. Bill Ritter serves as director for the Center, as well as and Senior Scholar within CSU's School of Global Environmental Sustainability. The Center for the New Energy Economy, including salaries, is completely funded by private support, initially from the San Francisco-based Energy Foundation and the Fort Collins-based Bohemian Foundation.


Director: Bill Ritter, Jr.

Changing Climates at CSU

The Changing Climates Initiative is a campuswide project launched in 2007 and supported by faculty and researchers from every CSU college, whose interests and research unite around climate change. This effort helps faculty infuse information and research on climate content into their courses in all majors and disciplines. It also provides seminars to train faculty and staff on climate change topics.


Co-Director: SueEllen Campbell
Co-Director: John Calderazzo

Colorado Climate Center

The Colorado Climate Center was established by the state in 1974, through the Colorado State University Agricultural Experiment Station, to provide information and expertise on Colorado's complex climate. Through its threefold program of Climate Monitoring (data acquisition, analysis, and archiving), Climate Research and Climate Services, the Center is responding to many climate related questions and problems affecting the state today.


Director: Nolan Doesken

Colorado Forest Restoration Institute

The Colorado Forest Restoration Institute was established at Colorado State University in 2004 through the Southwest Forest Health and Wildfire Prevention Act, along with the restoration institutes at New Mexico Highlands University and Northern Arizona.  The purposes of the institutes are to compile, translate, and apply the most current scientific information relevant to the needs of forest managers and communities in taking action to mitigate wildfire risk and restore healthy forest conditions. CFRI is a special unit in the Warner College of Natural Resources and draws on the unique strenghts of forest ecology and management sciences at Colorado State University and beyond.


Director: Tony Cheng

Colorado Natural Heritage Program

The Colorado Natural Heritage Program is Colorado’s only comprehensive source of information on the status and location of Colorado’s rarest and most threatened species and plant communities. We share information with a wide range of stakeholders in partnerships that work to ensure the Colorado’s biodiversity resources are not diminished. CNHP has an enormous impact on conservation in Colorado through these partnerships.  CNHP tracks and ranks Colorado’s rare and imperiled species and habitat and provides scientific information and expertise to promote the conservation of Colorado’s wealth of biological resources.  We are engaged with numerous partners to assess the vulnerability of species of concern and their habitats to climate change, and to develop and implement adaptive management strategies.


Director: David G. Anderson

Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere

CIRA is a cooperative institute that is also a research department within CSU's College of Engineering. Its vision is to conduct interdisciplinary research in the atmospheric sciences by entraining skills beyond the meteorological disciplines, exploiting advances in engineering and computer science, facilitating transitional activity between pure and applied research, leveraging both national and international resources and partnerships, and assisting NOAA, Colorado State University, the State of Colorado, and the Nation through the application of our research to areas of societal benefit.


Director: Chris Kummerow

Energy Institute

Energy is a central element of almost every major challenge and opportunity the world faces today. CSU has a long history of pioneering work in energy, with over 160 faculty developing energy technologies, exploring the economics, environmental, and sociological impacts of energy use, and proposing energy policy solutions.
The Institute aims to grow the impact, reach, and reputation of energy research and education at Colorado State University by increasing collaboration with industry and governmental partners, creating new research and educational opportunities for CSU faculty and students, and accelerating the dissemination of CSU solutions.
This cross-campus, interdisciplinary effort is operated under the Office of the Vice President for Research. The extensive network of researchers, research programs, and centers, spans all eight colleges at CSU, and extends off campus to a global network of public and private partners.


Directors: Morgan DeFoort, Bryan Willson, and Kenneth Reardon